Suomi drum quick reload?

BuffDragon

UZI Talk Life Member
so I was loading a drum up last night and got to thinking (as I'm knocking rounds over sideways in the drum, chasing them around trying to fish them out and etc)...
these are military drums used in combat. yes, you're carrying 71 rounds on board when loaded, but how were they topped off? or quickly loaded in the field?
I mean, on a mag you can top it off with a few rounds from your pocket whenever you want, but if you were loading a drum, its not the fastest thing in the world to get back into the fight if necessary.

thoughts?
maybe I'm just a rookie (which is true) and dont have it wired down yet.

Wahnsinn

I don't think there is a quick way. Probably just took them out already loaded, once it's empty either drop it or stuff it somewhere, carry some sticks that could be quickly loaded/topped off.

That's what I do, until I show my kids how to load them :D They already do the sticks for me at the range.

Shattered

...but how were they topped off? or quickly loaded in the field?

My friend's father was actually pressed into service in the Russian Army in the advance through Germany. Being Polish and just turned 16, he was grabbed (or volunteered, he didn't expound on that) as the Russians advanced through the Polish territory. All he said about the PPsh submachineguns was that when you ran out of ammo, you just ran out. You either picked up drums or mags off a dead comrade or threw it away and grabbed something else. He said nobody reloaded the drums in the field, especially during combat. He recounted one attack where he ended up using about 20 different guns and ended up switching to German machinguns as the ammo was easier to find.
Fascinating guy, he passed several years ago.

BuffDragon

UZI Talk Life Member