Building the ultimate light-weight AR

mkellett

UZI Talk Life Member
Okay guys, here's a challenge... What would YOU spec as the ultimate light-weight AR-15 (either in .223 or 9mm) rifle/carbine.

There are so many "junk barge" AR's on the other message boards, only the "thinking man's" gun guys on the Uzi board could come up with a really good solution.

I figure any rifle/carbine that is really intended to be "humped" around in real-life use, should be as light as possible, while retaining full reliability and accuracy.

So, instead of trying to figure out how much crap you can pile onto a poor, defenseless rifle carcass, let's see who can figure out how to get the most bang for the fewest ounces.

I've inititated this because I am about to build a 9mm AR and I love all the cool gadgets, but I don't want something that resembles a boat anchor.

I know there are now carbon-fibre parts for AR's (Bushmaster), but I have no knowledge of their real-world durability. I owned one of the early Carbon-15 AR style pistols, and it was a piece of junk (never functioned properly in its life).

I'm thinking more in line with the lightest possible variation on barrels, handguards, optics, mags, etc. I just thought this would be a fun excercise for those into the AR's.:D

az_gun_nut

UZI Talk Supporter
What's wrong with a bone stock Flattop AR with an Aimpoint or EOTech sight on it and that's it? My Bushy M4 is a 14.5 inch M4 profile with the 2 inch flash hider. Colt M4 doulbe heat shield hand guards, flattop upper with an Aimpoint M2 sight mounted on an ARMS quick release mount that sits on top of an ARMS Swan Sleeve rail with a flip up BUIS. I have a SUREFIRE G2 Nitrolon light mounted under the barrel just in case. That's it, pretty simple, fairly light weight and just the necessities.

BushyM4.jpg

Last edited:

Z06

UZI Talk Life Member
135ASA-med.jpg