AR pistol issues

kanewtervalve

UZI Talk Life Member
Built an AR pistol awhile back as many of you know, have been having problems with FTF, round going all the way in but 1/8 inch, I can push on the groove of the bolt carrier with my thumb to go the rest of the way but makes the AR basically a bolt action AR. I have tried a heavier spring and even some washers on the buffer guide to try and get it to function correctly. I have an extra spring(they have to be cut down) but didn't want to destroy it unless I tried everything else.
Anyway, that's the background, my question is when I studied the lower I found I had installed the hammer spring backwards, I corrected the problem but I am wondering if it was part of my problem from the beginning. I'm thinking the bolt carrier may have been "dragging" on the hammer more so than usual with the hammer spring installed backward but did not see much of a difference in the height of the cocked hammer compared to my other ARs. Any thoughts guys? TIA for any help.
Mark.

Brian Ski

UZI Talk Life Member
I sure ain't much of an AR pro... How does the bolt slide with the upper off the lower?? To me it should slide really easy. It seems like it is dragging on something.

When it hangs up on the last 1/8 inch... Is it pushing a round in or an empty chamber?? Gas tube isn't bent...Dragging???

kanewtervalve

UZI Talk Life Member
Tried different carrier, hard to tell if it's dragging anymore than usual because they all have contact to some extent. Carrier is free moving off the lower. Failed to mention that with 5 rounds in a 20 round mag it will fire every one without FTF.

az_gun_nut

UZI Talk Supporter