Hard use suppressors for M-16

cajun 22

UZI Talk Life Member
What suppressor are you guys using for hard use on an M16? Looking for a new one at the moment and gathering input.

Thanks

mattnh

UZI Talk Life Member
The specs and build on the vox look awesome
No barrel length restrictions & FA !!!

Deerhurst

Rugged suppressors are "belt fed" rated. Don't think you can get any more hard core than that!

Short barrels and heavy firing schedules eventually wear out blast baffles anyways.

I've been running a sico hybrid pretty hard for a few years. It's been fine. Mostly SBRs below min barrel length and sub guns. It's big, heavy and FA rated. Lots of volume makes it pretty quiet.

chili17

Moderator, FFL/SOT, UZI Talk Life Member,
Staff member
Well, not sure it really matters to much. I have worn out 2, 5.56 suppressors. Neither blew up or anything. Blast baffle opening just became extremely large and was getting baffle strikes pretty regular. First one was an early steel YHM 5.56 phantom. It was pretty worn at about 25k. 99% of all shooting was FA on 11.5" barrels. YHM replaced with their newest can. 2nd was a SWR R2A2 (i think). Same deal about 25k and started to get numerous baffle strikes. SWR replaced as well. In both incidents they could have rebuilt the cans, but since we are an SOT it was just easier for them to replace as opposed to rebuild. Typically would shoot 300rds or so in burst. Occasional mag/beta mag dumps. Anyone can destroy a can by just dumping mag after mag through it. With semi fire on a longer barrel I would expect round count of 50k or more. From what I have seen wear increases greatly when you get below a 14.5" barrel and even more so under 11.5"

Jmacken37

Mr. Miata, UZI Talk Life Member,